Chocolate-Chocolate-Chip-Coconut Cookies (Gluten-Free)

I started out the new year reading Eat & Run by Scott Jurek (a book I devoured in two days and one that I recommend) and promised myself that 2013 would be full of awareness of the food that I put into my body. The book is inspiring–it made me think of all the processed foods I usually consume and how when I do consciously eat better, and more locally, I feel better. I think more clearly. I feel lighter on my morning runs. And then after finishing a chapter at a coffee shop what did I do? I ran across the street to the grocery store, then promptly went home and baked these awesome cookies. So much for limiting my sugar intake…

In reality, I do hope that in 2013 I will be more aware of the foods that I’m eating but I’m not going to cut out sweets or processed foods entirely. I love chocolate way too much for that nonsense.

I went into baking these with the idea that they would taste like the cookie I bought on a whim at a Nabolom Bakery a few days prior. I hit up the bakery late in the day so there was a limited selection of sweets left behind the case. There were, however, a large platter of gluten-free chocolate cookies lying by the register so I thought, why not? They were chocolate after all and it’s hard to go wrong with that. The guy working the counter smiled and said they were his favorite but there were so many left at the end of the day that I thought he was probably just trying to make conversation. I was wrong. These cookies are amazing. The lack of flour makes them have an intense chew and the chopped walnuts add a richness that is balanced nicely by the sweet chocolate. In short, I have found a new favorite.

I used pecans in my cookies because that’s what I had on hand but I think any nut would work well (the original recipe calls for almonds). These cookies have all of the same qualities that I love in Nabolom’s. Plus they taste just as good even a day or two after baking as they do right out of the oven!

cookiemug

Chocolate-Chocolate-Chip-Coconut Cookies (Gluten-Free)

3 cups confectioners’ sugar (sifted)

3/4 cup natural cocoa powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup chopped pecans (toasted)*

3/4 cup dark chocolate chips

3/4 cup sweetened shredded coconut

4 large egg whites @ room temperature

*Preheat your oven to 350°F and spread out pecans in a single layer on a baking sheet. Bake pecans for approximately ten minutes, stirring once during the baking process and keeping a close eye on them towards the end of the baking time to ensure that they do not burn. Set pecans aside to cool.

Preheat oven to 325°F. Sift the confectioners’ sugar into a large mixing bowl. Add the cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt and whisk together. Add the pecans, chocolate chips, and coconut and stir into the mixture. Mix in the egg whites until combined but be sure not to overmix the batter. Drop the cookies onto a parchment paper-covered baking sheets in rounded tablespoons approximately two inches apart.

Bake for 15-18 minutes, rotating the baking sheets halfway through the baking time. Allow to cool on the baking sheets and enjoy!

Makes approximately two dozen cookies.

Adapted from Shutterbean

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “Chocolate-Chocolate-Chip-Coconut Cookies (Gluten-Free)

  1. [...] Wild Flour Child adapted my Flourless Chocolate Coconut Drops. [...]

  2. your website is great. when is the next post coming on this topic? i’m happy i found this blog. lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email

  3. good post keep posting. i really liked your ideas thanks for posting. lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

